jump to navigation

Soon cars will have iPod connection August 4, 2006

Posted by Ryan Jarrett in Advertising, Apple, Microsoft, Podcasts, Tech.
trackback

Apple have done deals in the States with Ford, GM (Vauxhall) and Mazda to have iPod connections installed in new cars.  These connections will, obviously, link in with the car’s stereo system, but they will also charge the iPod and allow control via the stero’s controls (including steering column cotrol).  I presume this will also go as far as using in-car displays to show the name/artist/duration of tracks.

I see this as a good thing – I listen to my iPod while I’m driving my car.  However, I have to use a lead with two 3.5mm headphone jacks and plug one end into my ‘pod and the other into my car stereo (fortunately it has a 3.5mm input on the front).  Not ideal, especially as I still have to use the iPod itself to change tracks (only when parked your honour)  and it certainly doesn’t charge the thing.  A neat socket I can quickly shove my Nano into would be much easier (and neater).  I hope this comes to the UK, and that also other car manufacturers follow suit.  I can see iPods being bundled with new cars soon.

Apparently in the States the broadcast radio industry is a little worried about this.  Radio still rules in most cars but if people start using their iPod to listen to music and podcasts then their audience will obviously decline, reducing the advertising revenue they can generate.  This may mean moving into commercial-supported podcasting.

The other issue that crossed my mind is whether other media player manufacturers (read Sony and Microsoft) will try and secure similar deals to retain some share of this market and block Apple.  Sony may add some sort of compatability to their car stereos.

Comments»

1. Cars and Cars » - August 30, 2006

[…] Soon <b>cars</b> will have iPod connection […]


Leave a comment